Red

There was no where to run so we wept,
As thunder came a freight train
On this crystal clear day we wept
So softly, lightening struck
Water erupted drenched were you,
Drenched was I,
In what colour I have forced
To the back of my mind, I cannot remember
The colour of the water, I have tried so hard to forget

So alone we stood facing one another
A clearing here in this forest of willow
And cedar but mostly in this forest
We were surrounded by the peeling white leather
Of Betula papyrifera,

Our eyes met
Cerulean oceans of German descent,
Black- a beautiful Autumn night of genus Sciurus
And we wept in a mutual moment of understanding,

First silence-a lifetime it felt
As though we had a formed a lasting friendship
Entirely separate from this reality
Then thunder and rain, oh flood waters
I screamed “Where’s Noah’s Arc?” I screamed
But there was no boat
For there was no savior
For I had pulled the trigger
For I can still remember that feeling
As my throat was ripped open and stuffed like a teddy bear

Father smiled,
Yelled “Congratulations!”
As his child drowned
No more than twenty meters away

 

Author: Montana Svoboda

I'm a genderless poet currently living in Central Michigan where I attend college for Environmental Science and English. Nature's some cool shit, frisbee's a neat activity, fountain pens are best pens, Latakia for life, coffee and tea keep these gears turning.

Leave a Reply

