Diachronic Dissonance

Quiver gently
Onto tree roots and reach for me darling
River of mine, love of life oh,
Great companion in the journey of reincarnation,
Watching you erupt every season illustrated fearful
At once I might fall or want to jump
In, now it’d be an honor to drown,
Kiss your red-stained lips chip
A tooth on rocks eroded smooth,

This romance is unconventional but I know
The makeup of my body I know
Humanity is suffering only
Together and alone waiting,
I will wait for you river
If you will wait for me yet again,
A twist of hair braiding sediment
With sentimentality waiting for age to accumulate
Become a layer of limestone exposed
An adult I’ve grown into and still,
Close you are it is this feeling of distance
That can’t be consummated and how much longer
Will it be before in harmony our structures will be joined together?

This world is uncomfortable
My body aches in knowing I was once free-flowing
Thought process still stuck in a past life
An ear to earth I hear roots growing and I understand
What a sunset says but this tongue fails to enunciate a clear translation,
Panic stricken staying up late carving canyons into skin
As if blood and water are indistinguishable
Gutters abundant under glossy eyes
Crying in attempt to grow flowers and forests
How is it possible that at twenty-one
I’m no more what I will be than what I am?

Author: Montana Svoboda

I'm a genderless poet currently living in Central Michigan where I attend college for Environmental Science and English. Nature's some cool shit, frisbee's a neat activity, fountain pens are best pens, Latakia for life, coffee and tea keep these gears turning.

Leave a Reply

