Absence, In Everything

And of all things I feel for
I feel most for the beats of a bird wing
In mid-flight flying a soft distance to tree branch,
I feel most for those intimate pauses
Between a breeze blowing kisses at birch leaves
Where the forest is quiet and still
And everything is bedecked in a hyper-realistic aura

Embarking on subtle adventures alone
Only or with the love of someone else
I’ll try to convince myself this great sensation
Of empathy towards nature is a spiritual connection,
That these bones are flowers post-bloom and I
Breathe with the lungs of a whitetail deer and I
Imagine my hair is a bundle of cedar boughs
Let ‘em grow, let ‘em grow,
Given an opportunity they’ll take root maybe
But I know, I know
I am exclusively human,
A collection of misfired chemicals reactions
And all of my associations are just
An attempt at escaping that reality

Author: Montana Svoboda

I'm a genderless poet currently living in Central Michigan where I attend college for Environmental Science and English. Nature's some cool shit, frisbee's a neat activity, fountain pens are best pens, Latakia for life, coffee and tea keep these gears turning.

Leave a Reply

