A Long Weekend Away

Received in the mail today
An image and handwritten statement
Declaring that someone was somewhere
And they thought of me,
Stamped and dated visiting Paris April 26th,
From Europe over ocean
Great lake to Michigan
To all places I never thought
To inspect

Given context or suppositions,
How do I know when wandering with no destination
In mind that I’m wandering in the right direction?
These trees and faces all look the same
Seen from a distance, following a map of convictions
Hoping this faith in getting lost will somehow
Lead to a place where I’m comfortable
In my own skin, a place occupied with laughter
Vistas vast and brilliant and I can sit for a moment
In company of coincidence and evanescent idleness,

Flipping the Eiffel Tower over
Reveals a string of numbers and letters
That resemble a familiar address
One that I’m still trying to discover

Author: Montana Svoboda

I'm a genderless poet currently living in Central Michigan where I attend college for Environmental Science and English. Nature's some cool shit, frisbee's a neat activity, fountain pens are best pens, Latakia for life, coffee and tea keep these gears turning.

Leave a Reply

